Capital letters indicate new material to be added to existing statute.

Dashes through the words indicate deletions from existing statute.

This is supplied as an informational item only.

This is NOT an official publication of the Colorado State Legislature.

First Regular Session

Sixty-first General Assembly

LLS NO. R97@0742.01 GWF


BY REPRESENTATIVES Lawrence and S. Williams;

also SENATOR Powers.



WHEREAS, The Republic of Poland is a free and independent nation with a long and proud history; and

WHEREAS, The people of the Republic of Poland struggled long and hard to overcome the burden of oppression forced upon them by a communist regime; and

WHEREAS, Although the history of Eastern Europe has experienced periods of religious persecution and denial of basic human rights, the Republic of Poland has embarked on a new era in which tolerance and democratic institutions can flourish; and

WHEREAS, The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is dedicated to the preservation of freedom and security in its member nations; and

WHEREAS, The Republic of Poland desires to share in both the benefits and obligations of membership in NATO and to pursue the development, growth, and promotion of democratic institutions and ensuring free market economic development; and

WHEREAS, The Republic of Poland recognizes its responsibilities as a democratic nation and wishes to exercise such responsibilities in concert with the members of NATO; and

WHEREAS, Both the Republic of Poland and the United States, as well as other members of NATO, find that their security is dependent upon the stability of central Europe; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Sixty­first General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the Senate concurring herein:

That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, hereby encourage President Clinton and the members of the Colorado Congressional delegation to support and promote the Republic of Poland's admission into the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Resolution be sent to President Clinton, Senator Wayne Allard, Senator Ben Campbell, Congressman Joel Hefley, Congresswoman Diana DeGette, Congressman David Skaggs, Congressman Scott McInnis, Congressman Bob Schaffer, and Congressman Dan Schaefer.