

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-002

BY SENATOR(S) Baumgardner and Merrifield, Cooke, Jones, Roberts, Aguilar, Carroll, Crowder, Donovan, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Hodge, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Kefalas, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Neville T., Newell, Scheffel, Scott, Sonnenberg, Steadman, Tate, Todd, Ulibarri, Woods, Cadman; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Hamner and Thurlow, Becker K., Buck, Singer, Arndt, Becker J., Brown, Buckner, Carver, Conti, Coram, Court, Danielson, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Esgar, Everett, Fields, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Klingenschmitt, Kraft-Tharp, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, Leonard, Lontine, Lundeen, McCann, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Navarro, Neville P., Nordberg, Pabon, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Ransom, Rosenthal, Roupe, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Sias, Tyler, Van Winkle, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Wist, Young, Hullinghorst.

CONCERNING THE RECOGNITION OF COLORADO FIREFIGHTERS KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY.

WHEREAS, More than 12,000 career and volunteer firefighters comprise the Colorado fire service; and

WHEREAS, Personnel of the Colorado fire service respond to more than 500,000 calls for help each year, often placing themselves directly in harm's way for the safety of others; and

WHEREAS, Fire services personnel are often the first to respond to an emergency, whether it involves a fire, medical emergency, spill of hazardous materials, natural disaster, act of terrorism, or transportation accident; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 100 fire and emergency services personnel die annually in the line of duty in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Most recently, the following firefighters have given their lives in service to the people of Colorado:

- Richard Lee Marchman, a volunteer firefighter for the Indian Peaks Fire Protection District, collapsed and died on July 9, 2014, after assisting in the rescue of a hiker with a broken ankle;
- Willard Clapper, a volunteer firefighter for the Aspen Fire Protection District, died on October 16, 2014, after battling lymphoma, which was determined to be line-of-duty under Colorado's presumptive cancer law;
- John Whelan, a firefighter for the Denver Fire Department, died on July 16, 2015, from injuries sustained during firefighting activities;
- Craig Moilanen, a firefighter with the North Metro Fire Rescue District and formerly of the Foothills Fire Protection District, died on October 8, 2015, after a two-year battle with cancer; and

WHEREAS, The Colorado Fallen Firefighters Memorial in Lakewood contains the names of 145 firefighters who have fallen while working to protect lives and property in Colorado; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Seventieth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

- (1) That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, honor and pay tribute to the ultimate sacrifice paid by these fallen firefighters; and
- (2) Express our sympathy to the families and friends of those service members who have died.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Ken Watkins, President, Colorado State Fire Chiefs; Mike Rogers, President, Colorado Professional Fire Fighters; Paul Cooke, Director, Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control; Eric Tade, Fire Chief, Denver Fire Department; David Ramos, Fire Chief, North Metro Fire Rescue District; Norman Bowers, Fire Chief, Indian Peaks Fire Protection District; Rick Balentine, Fire Chief, Aspen Fire Protection District; and Brian Zoril, Fire Chief, Foothills Fire Protection District.

Bill L. Cadman

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE

OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen

SECRETARY OF

THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins

CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE

OF REPRESENTATIVES