

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-007

BY SENATOR(S) Crowder, Aguilar, Baumgardner, Carroll, Cooke, Donovan, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Hodge, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Merrifield, Neville T., Newell, Roberts, Scheffel, Scott, Sonnenberg, Steadman, Tate, Todd, Ulibarri, Woods, Cadman; also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Esgar and Navarro, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Brown, Buck, Buckner, Carver, Conti, Coram, Court, Danielson, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Everett, Fields, Foote, Garnett, Ginal, Hamner, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Klingenschmitt, Kraft-Tharp, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, Leonard, Lontine, Lundeen, McCann, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Neville P., Nordberg, Pabon, Primavera, Rankin, Ransom, Rosenthal, Roupe, Ryden, Saine, Sias, Singer, Thurlow, Tyler, Van Winkle, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Wist, Young, Hullinghorst.

CONCERNING AWARENESS DAY FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH INTELLECTUAL AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES.

WHEREAS, For over 50 years, Colorado's community-based services system has led the way for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities to receive services and supports that afford them greater independence and community interaction; and

WHEREAS, Colorado's community system for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities has a long, proud history of enabling individuals to move from large, institutional services to smaller, community-based integrated services that offer personalized assistance and support; and

WHEREAS, Colorado's community system for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities helps individuals obtain meaningful employment in a variety of settings, allowing them to work

2016

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to community-centered boards and organizations that provide services and supports to adults and children with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families throughout Colorado.

Bill L. Cadman PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Effie Ameen

SECRETARY OF THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PAGE 3-SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16-007