

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 15-1017

REPRESENTATIVE(S) Brown and Fields, Klingenschmitt, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Buck, Buckner, Carver, Conti, Coram, DelGrosso, Dore, Garnett, Ginal, Hamner, Lebsock, Lontine, Lundeen, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Navarro, Neville P., Priola, Ransom, Roupe, Ryden, Saine, Sias, Thurlow, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter, Court, Danielson, Duran, Esgar, Everett, Foote, Humphrey, Kagan, Keyser, Kraft-Tharp, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lee, McCann, Moreno, Nordberg, Pabon, Pettersen, Primavera, Rankin, Rosenthal, Salazar, Singer, Tate, Tyler, Van Winkle, Young, Hullinghorst; also SENATOR(S) Sonnenberg and Baumgardner, Donovan, Roberts, Aguilar, Balmer, Carroll, Cooke, Crowder, Garcia, Grantham, Guzman, Heath, Hill, Hodge, Holbert, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Martinez Humenik, Merrifield, Neville T., Newell, Scheffel, Scott, Steadman, Todd, Ulibarri, Woods, Cadman.

CONCERNING EXPRESSING SUPPORT FOR THE DESIGNATION OF THE 4TH SATURDAY IN JULY AS "NATIONAL DAY OF THE COWBOY".

WHEREAS, Pioneering men and women known as cowboys helped establish America's frontiers; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy archetype transcends gender, generations, ethnicity, geographic boundaries, and political affiliations; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy embodies honesty, integrity, courage, compassion, and determination; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy Vaquero spirit exemplifies patriotism and strength of character; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy is an excellent steward of the land and its creatures; and

WHEREAS, The core values expressed within the Cowboy Code of Conduct continue to inspire the pursuit of the highest caliber of personal integrity; and

WHEREAS, Cowboy and ranching traditions have been part of the American landscape and culture since 1523, and today's cowboys and cowgirls continue to strive to preserve and perpetuate this unique element of America's heritage; and

WHEREAS, There are 87 million cattle in the United States, including 2.48 million in the state of Colorado; and

WHEREAS, The cattle business is a huge part of agriculture in the United States and in Colorado; and

WHEREAS, Annual attendance at rodeos exceeds 30 million fans worldwide; and

WHEREAS, Membership and participation in the National Day of the Cowboy organization, National Cattlemen's Beef Association, Colorado Cattlemen's Association, National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, ProRodeo Hall of Fame, American National Cattlewomen, Inc., Working Ranch Cowboys Association, Cowboy Mounted Shooting Association, American Quarter Horse Association, Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association, Professional Bull Riders, Women's Professional Rodeo Association, United States Team Roping Championships, the Western Music Association, and other organizations that encompass the livelihood of the cowboy continue to expand both nationally and internationally; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy and his horse are central figures in literature, art, film, poetry, photography, and music; and

WHEREAS, The cowboy is a true American icon occupying a central place in the public's imagination; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Seventieth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the Senate concurring herein:

- (1) That we, the members of the General Assembly, express our support for the designation of the 4th Saturday in July as "National Day of the Cowboy"; and
- (2) That we encourage the people of the state of Colorado and all citizens of the United States of America to observe the day with appropriate ceremonies and activities.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper; Don Brown, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture; Ron Williams, Chairman of the Board, National Western Stock Show; Frank Daley, President, Colorado Cattlemen's Association; the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum; the National Day of the Cowboy organization; United States Senator Michael Bennet; United States Senator Cory Gardner; United States Representative Diana DeGette; United States Representative Jared Polis; United States Representative Ken Buck; United States Representative Doug Lamborn; United States Representative Mike Coffman; and United States Representative Ed Perlmutter.

Dickey Lee Hullinghorst	Bill L. Cadman
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE	PRESIDENT OF
OF REPRESENTATIVES	THE SENATE
Marilyn Eddins	Cindi L. Markwell
•	
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE	SECRETARY OF
OF REPRESENTATIVES	THE SENATE