First Regular Session Seventieth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

ENGROSSED

LLS NO. R15-0975.01 Owen Colling x4338

HJR15-1017

HOUSE SPONSORSHIP

Brown and Fields, Joshi, Klingenschmitt, Arndt, Becker J., Becker K., Buck, Buckner, Carver, Conti, Coram, DelGrosso, Dore, Garnett, Ginal, Hamner, Lebsock, Lontine, Lundeen, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Navarro, Neville P., Priola, Ransom, Roupe, Ryden, Saine, Sias, Thurlow, Vigil, Willett, Williams, Wilson, Windholz, Winter

SENATE SPONSORSHIP

Sonnenberg and Baumgardner, Donovan, Roberts

House Committees

Senate Committees

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 15-1017 CONCERNING EXPRESSING SUPPORT FOR THE DESIGNATION OF THE 4TH SATURDAY IN JULY AS "NATIONAL DAY OF THE COWBOY".
WHEREAS, Pioneering men and women known as cowboys helped establish America's frontiers; and
WHEREAS, The cowboy archetype transcends gender, generations, ethnicity, geographic boundaries, and political affiliations; and
WHEREAS, The cowboy embodies honesty, integrity, courage, compassion, and determination; and
WHEREAS, The cowboy Vaquero spirit exemplifies patriotism and strength of character; and

1 2	WHEREAS, The cowboy is an excellent steward of the land and its creatures; and
3 4 5	WHEREAS, The core values expressed within the Cowboy Code of Conduct continue to inspire the pursuit of the highest caliber of personal integrity; and
6 7 8 9	WHEREAS, Cowboy and ranching traditions have been part of the American landscape and culture since 1523, and today's cowboys and cowgirls continue to strive to preserve and perpetuate this unique element of America's heritage; and
10 11	WHEREAS, There are 87 million cattle in the United States, including 2.48 million in the state of Colorado; and
12 13	WHEREAS, The cattle business is a huge part of agriculture in the United States and in Colorado; and
14 15	WHEREAS, Annual attendance at rodeos exceeds 30 million fans worldwide; and
16 17 18 19 20 21	WHEREAS, Membership and participation in the National Day of the Cowboy organization, National Cattlemen's Beef Association, Colorado Cattlemen's Association, National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, ProRodeo Hall of Fame, American National Cattlewomen, Inc., Working Ranch Cowboys Association, Cowboy Mounted Shooting Association, American Quarter Horse Association,
22 23 24 25 26	Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association, Professional Bull Riders, Women's Professional Rodeo Association, United States Team Roping Championships, the Western Music Association, and other organizations that encompass the livelihood of the cowboy continue to expand both nationally and internationally; and
22 23 24 25	Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association, Professional Bull Riders, Women's Professional Rodeo Association, United States Team Roping Championships, the Western Music Association, and other organizations that encompass the livelihood of the cowboy continue to expand both
22 23 24 25 26	Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association, Professional Bull Riders, Women's Professional Rodeo Association, United States Team Roping Championships, the Western Music Association, and other organizations that encompass the livelihood of the cowboy continue to expand both nationally and internationally; and WHEREAS, The cowboy and his horse are central figures in

-2- 1017

(1) That we, the members of the General Assembly, express our support for the designation of the 4th Saturday in July as "National Day of the Cowboy"; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

(2) That we encourage the people of the state of Colorado and all citizens of the United States of America to observe the day with appropriate ceremonies and activities.

7 Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent 8 to Governor John Hickenlooper; Don Brown, Colorado Commissioner of 9 Agriculture; Ron Williams, Chairman of the Board, National Western Stock Show; Frank Daley, President, Colorado Cattlemen's Association; 10 11 the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum; the National Day of the Cowboy organization; United States Senator Michael Bennet; 12 United States Senator Cory Gardner; United States Representative Diana 13 14 DeGette; United States Representative Jared Polis; United States Representative Scott Tipton; United States Representative Ken Buck; 15 United States Representative Doug Lamborn; United States 16 Representative Mike Coffman; and United States Representative Ed 17 18 Perlmutter.

-3-