# First Regular Session Seventieth General Assembly STATE OF COLORADO

## **PREAMENDED**

This Unofficial Version Includes Committee Amendments Not Yet Adopted on Second Reading

LLS NO. 15-0626.01 Duane Gall x4335

**HOUSE BILL 15-1319** 

### **HOUSE SPONSORSHIP**

Esgar, Tyler, Duran, Melton, Moreno, Salazar, Singer, Vigil, Williams

## SENATE SPONSORSHIP

(None),

#### **House Committees**

#### **Senate Committees**

Transportation & Energy Finance

	A BILL FOR AN ACT
101	CONCERNING AN INCREASE IN THE DIVERSITY OF INTERESTS
102	REPRESENTED IN PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE COLORADO PUBLIC
103	UTILITIES COMMISSION, AND, IN CONNECTION THEREWITH,
104	INCREASING THE NUMBER OF COMMISSIONERS AND
105	ESTABLISHING GEOGRAPHIC REGIONS FROM WHICH CERTAIN
106	COMMISSIONERS ARE APPOINTED.

## **Bill Summary**

(Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced and does not reflect any amendments that may be subsequently adopted. If this bill passes third reading in the house of introduction, a bill summary that applies to the reengrossed version of this bill will be available at <a href="http://www.leg.state.co.us/billsummaries">http://www.leg.state.co.us/billsummaries</a>.)

The bill increases the membership of the public utilities

commission from 3 to 5, with 2 of the commissioners representing the state at large and 3 representing one district each. The districts are defined to include named counties, consisting roughly of the western slope, the northeastern quadrant of the state, and the southeastern quadrant of the state.

1 *Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Colorado:* 2 **SECTION 1.** In Colorado Revised Statutes, 40-2-101, **amend** (1) 3 and (2) as follows: 4 40-2-101. Creation - appointment - term - subject to 5 **termination - repeal of article.** (1) (a) A public utilities commission is 6 hereby created, which shall be known as the public utilities commission 7 of the state of Colorado, to consist of three members who shall be 8 appointed by the governor with the consent of the senate; EXCEPT THAT, 9 ON AND AFTER JULY 1, 2016, THE COMMISSION CONSISTS OF FIVE MEMBERS 10 APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR WITH THE CONSENT OF THE SENATE. 11 Persons holding office on July 1, <del>1993</del> 2015, shall continue to serve in 12 such office, but the term of one of these persons shall expire on the 13 Monday preceding the second Tuesday of January 1995 2016 of another, 14 the Monday preceding the second Tuesday of January <del>1996</del> 2017 and of 15 the third, the Monday preceding the second Tuesday of January 1997 16 2019, all as the governor shall designate; except that such designation 17 shall not result in the extension of the term of any member to more than 18 four years' duration. Thereafter, appointments shall be made for terms of 19 four years; EXCEPT THAT THE INITIAL TERM OF ONE OF THE TWO MEMBERS 20 APPOINTED TO SERVE BEGINNING JULY 1, 2016, IS THREE YEARS. 21 22 (b) EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016, THREE OF THE FIVE COMMISSIONERS 23 SHALL BE DESIGNATED TO REPRESENT IDENTIFIED GEOGRAPHIC REGIONS

-2-

1	OF THE STATE. THE REGIONS, EACH TO BE REPRESENTED BY ONE OF THE
2	THREE COMMISSIONERS SO DESIGNATED, ARE AS FOLLOWS:
3	(I) REGION 1, CONSISTING OF THE COUNTIES OF DENVER, ADAMS,
4	Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson, Park, Clear Creek, Gilpin,
5	BOULDER, BROOMFIELD, LARIMER, JACKSON, WELD, LOGAN, SEDGWICK,
6	PHILLIPS, YUMA, WASHINGTON, MORGAN, KIT CARSON, LINCOLN, AND
7	Elbert;
8	(II) REGION 2, CONSISTING OF THE COUNTIES OF CHAFFEE,
9	FREMONT, CUSTER, PUEBLO, TELLER, EL PASO, CROWLEY, OTERO, BENT,
10	KIOWA, CHEYENNE, PROWERS, BACA, LAS ANIMAS, COSTILLA,
11	Huerfano, Alamosa, Conejos, Rio Grande, Mineral, and
12	SAGUACHE; AND
13	(III) REGION 3, CONSISTING OF THE COUNTIES OF ARCHULETA,
14	HINSDALE, GUNNISON, PITKIN, LAKE, EAGLE, SUMMIT, GRAND, ROUTT,
15	MOFFAT, RIO BLANCO, GARFIELD, MESA, DELTA, MONTROSE, OURAY,
16	San Juan, La Plata, Montezuma, Dolores, and San Miguel.
17	
18	(2) No more than two THREE members of the public utilities
19	commission shall be affiliated with the same political party, and any
20	appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for the unexpired term. Each
21	commissioner shall be a qualified elector of this state. The governor shall
22	designate one member of the commission as chair of the commission. The
23	commissioners shall devote their entire time to the duties of their office
24	to the exclusion of any other employment and shall receive such
25	compensation as is designated by law. A majority of the commission shall
26	constitute a quorum for the transaction of its business.
27	SECTION 2. Act subject to petition - effective date. This act

-3- 1319

takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the expiration of the 1 2 ninety-day period after final adjournment of the general assembly (August 3 5, 2015, if adjournment sine die is on May 6, 2015); except that, if a 4 referendum petition is filed pursuant to section 1 (3) of article V of the state constitution against this act or an item, section, or part of this act 5 6 within such period, then the act, item, section, or part will not take effect 7 unless approved by the people at the general election to be held in November 2016 and, in such case, will take effect on the date of the 8 9 official declaration of the vote thereon by the governor.

-4- 1319