

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-1003

BY REPRESENTATIVE(S) Exum, Williams, Buckner, Fields, Melton, Becker, Buck, Conti, Court, DelGrosso, Dore, Duran, Fischer, Foote, Garcia, Gardner, Gerou, Ginal, Hamner, Holbert, Hullinghorst, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Kraft-Tharp, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, May, McCann, McLachlan, McNulty, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Murray, Navarro, Nordberg, Pabon, Peniston, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Rosenthal, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Schafer, Scott, Singer, Sonnenberg, Stephens, Swalm, Szabo, Tyler, Vigil, Waller, Wilson, Wright, Young, Ferrandino; also SENATOR(S) Steadman, Aguilar, Balmer, Baumgardner, Brophy, Cadman, Crowder, Grantham, Guzman, Harvey, Heath, Herpin, Hill, Hodge, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, King, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Newell, Nicholson, Rivera, Roberts, Scheffel, Schwartz, Tochtrop, Todd, Ulibarri, Zenzinger, Carroll.

CONCERNING THE COMMEMORATION OF THE BIRTHDAY OF THE REVEREND DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR.

WHEREAS, The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was born in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1929, graduated from Morehouse College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1948, graduated from Crozer Theological Seminary in 1951, and received a Ph.D. from Boston University in 1955; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. King led the Montgomery bus boycott, a 13-month protest beginning December 5, 1955, against the segregated city bus lines; and

WHEREAS, The Montgomery bus boycott lead to the integration of the Montgomery city bus system and is widely credited as the beginning of the civil rights movement in America; and WHEREAS, In 1957, Rev. Dr. King was elected president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, an organization formed to provide leadership for the burgeoning civil rights movement; and

WHEREAS, Between 1957 and 1968, Rev. Dr. King spoke over 2,500 times, wrote 5 books as well as numerous articles, led protests, helped register African American voters, was arrested over 20 times, was awarded 5 honorary degrees, was named Man of the Year by *Time* magazine, and became the symbolic leader of the African American community as well as a world figure; and

WHEREAS, On August 28, 1963, Rev. Dr. King directed the March on Washington, wherein more than 200,000 Americans gathered in the name of equality and civil rights and which culminated in Rev. Dr. King's historic "I Have a Dream" speech; and

WHEREAS, The leadership of Rev. Dr. King was instrumental in bringing about landmark legislation, such as the "Civil Rights Act of 1964", which prohibited segregation in public accommodations and facilities and banned discrimination based on race, color, or national origin, and the "Voting Rights Act of 1965", which eliminated remaining legal barriers to voting for disenfranchised African American voters; and

WHEREAS, In 1964, Rev. Dr. King was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his tireless and selfless work in the pursuit of justice for African Americans and other oppressed people in America; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. King's 13 years of nonviolent leadership ended abruptly and tragically when, on April 4, 1968, he was assassinated while standing on the balcony of the Lorraine Motel in Memphis, Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. King's birthday is a federal holiday in the United States and a state holiday in the state of Colorado, which is celebrated each year on the third Monday in January; and

WHEREAS, On Monday, January 20, 2014, we celebrate the 28th anniversary of Rev. Dr. King's holiday; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the Senate concurring herein:

That we, the members of the Colorado General Assembly, hereby encourage appropriate observances, ceremonies, and activities to commemorate the federal and state legal holiday honoring the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., throughout all cities, towns, counties, school districts, and local governments within Colorado.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to President Barack Obama, the Congressional Black Caucus, the National Black Caucus of State Legislators, and Colorado's congressional delegation.

Mark Ferrandino Morgan Carroll SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE PRESIDENT OF OF REPRESENTATIVES THE SENATE

Marilyn Eddins Cindi Markwell
CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE SECRETARY OF
OF REPRESENTATIVES THE SENATE