

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-036

BY SENATOR(S) Schwartz and Newell, Aguilar, Balmer, Brophy, Cadman, Crowder, Grantham, Guzman, Harvey, Heath, Herpin, Hill, Hodge, Jahn, Johnston, Jones, Kefalas, Kerr, King, Lambert, Lundberg, Marble, Nicholson, Renfroe, Rivera, Roberts, Scheffel, Steadman, Tochtrop, Todd, Ulibarri, Zenzinger, Carroll;

also REPRESENTATIVE(S) Hullinghorst and Vigil, Becker, Buck, Buckner, Conti, Coram, Court, DelGrosso, Dore, Everett, Exum, Fields, Fischer, Foote, Garcia, Gardner, Gerou, Ginal, Hamner, Holbert, Humphrey, Joshi, Kagan, Kraft-Tharp, Labuda, Landgraf, Lawrence, Lebsock, Lee, May, McCann, McLachlan, McNulty, Melton, Mitsch Bush, Moreno, Murray, Navarro, Nordberg, Pabon, Peniston, Pettersen, Primavera, Priola, Rankin, Rosenthal, Ryden, Saine, Salazar, Schafer, Scott, Singer, Sonnenberg, Stephens, Swalm, Szabo, Tyler, Waller, Williams, Wilson, Wright, Young, Ferrandino.

## CONCERNING CELEBRATING THE RESTORATION OF THE STATE CAPITOL DOME.

WHEREAS, The State Capitol building was designed by architect Elijah Myers and completed in 1894; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Myers originally planned for the dome atop the State Capitol to be copper, but the legislature agreed to cover the copper with gold leaf; and

WHEREAS, In 1908, Colorado gold was used to gild the dome as a reminder of the significance of gold to our state's history and a symbol of our prosperity; and

WHEREAS, Colorado weather conditions, particularly its seasonal freeze and thaw cycles, have necessitated repairs to the State Capitol

building and its dome over the years due to corrosion; and

WHEREAS, Damage to the dome from corrosion caused the observation deck to be closed and a temporary netting system installed in 2006; and

WHEREAS, In recent years, extreme rusting and deterioration of the dome necessitated a more permanent intervention, and a long-term plan commenced in 2011 to restore the cast iron structure of the dome; and

WHEREAS, The restoration was made possible by funding from the state historical fund, donations from businesses and citizens of Colorado who participated in the "Share in the Care Colorado" campaign, and the general fund; and

WHEREAS, Since restoration has commenced, much work has been done, including repairing deteriorated portions of the cast iron dome enclosure; replacing the copper above the cast iron and gilding the new copper with gold; and restoring windows and the interior balcony area; and

WHEREAS, The dome was re-gilded with gold leaf donated by AngloGold Ashanti/Cripple Creek & Victor Gold Mining Company, mined from the Teller County mine in Cripple Creek, Colorado, and prepared in Florence, Italy; and

WHEREAS, After being cloaked in scrim and scaffolding for three years during its repairs, the restored dome began its unveiling in early 2014 and will soon reopen and be viewed by the thousands of visitors who come to the state capitol each year; and

WHEREAS, Despite the large scope and size of the endeavor, the dome restoration project is currently on-time and under-budget; and

WHEREAS, It is fitting that we recognize and celebrate the restoration of an irreplaceable historic landmark and symbol of our state; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly of the State of Colorado, the House of Representatives concurring herein:

PAGE 2-SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-036

That we, the members of the Sixty-ninth General Assembly, recognize the efforts of all those involved in the restoration of the State Capitol dome and celebrate its completion.

Be It Further Resolved, That copies of this Joint Resolution be sent to Governor John Hickenlooper; Director Larry Friedberg of the Office of the State Architect; President Edward C. Nichols of History Colorado; Superintendent Chris Derington of GH Phipps; Director Jane Daniels of Colorado Preservation, Inc.; Board President Rebecca Goodwin of Preservation, Inc.; Marie Patterson of AngloGold Colorado Ashanti/Cripple Creek & Victor Gold Mining Company; Executive Director Kathy Nesbitt, Department of Personnel & Administration; Director of the Division of Statewide Programs Matthew Azer, Department of Personnel & Administration; Director of the Division of Central Services Scott Madsen, Department of Personnel & Administration; Architect Manager Lance Shepherd, Division of Central Services in the Department of Personnel & Administration; each member of the Capital Development Committee; and each member of the Capitol Building Advisory Committee.

Morgan Carroll PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE Mark Ferrandino SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Cindi Markwell SECRETARY OF THE SENATE Marilyn Eddins CHIEF CLERK OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## PAGE 3-SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 14-036