# Proposed Amendment to the Colorado Constitution

# Article XVIII Miscellaneous / Section 15. State Wildlife Management

### Be It Enacted By The People Of The State Of Colorado

# Article XVIII of the state constitution is amended BY THE ADDITION OF A NEW SECTION to read:

### Section 15. State Wildlife Management.

(1) IN ORDER TO PROTECT THE FISHING AND HUNTING HERITAGE OF COLORADO. THE COLORADO VOTERS SHALL ELECT THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF WILDLIFE STARTING IN 2006 DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION AND EVERY SIX YEARS THEREAFTER. ALL WILDLIFE COMMISSIONERS SHALL BE ELECTED EVERY FOUR YEARS COINCIDING WITH THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION STARTING IN 2008.

(2) THE COLORADO WILDLIFE COMMISSION IS AN ELEVEN-MEMBER BOARD CONSISTING OF NINE VOTING MEMBERS AND TWO NON-VOTING MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION. THE NON-VOTING, OR "EX-OFFICIO" MEMBERS ARE THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR THE COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, AND THE STATE AGRICULTURE COMMISSIONER.

(3) VOTERS SHALL ELECT ALL NINE OF THE VOTING MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION; INDIVIDUALS RUNNING FOR THE WILDLIFE COMMISSION SHALL RESIDE IN THE DISTRICT THAT THEY ARE RUNNING FOR. THE DISTRICT BOUNDARIES SHALL BE REDRAWN FROM ITS CURRENT CONFIGURATION OF FIVE DISTRICTS TO NINE DISTRICTS SO THAT ONLY ONE COMMISSIONER IS ELECTED PER A DISTRICT.

(4) THE STATE OF COLORADO SHALL BE DIVIDED INTO NINE SECTIONS TO FORM THE FOLLOWING NINE DISTRICTS.

(a) DISTRICT ONE SHALL CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: MOFFAT, ROUTT, RIO BLANCO, GARFIELD.

(b) DISTRICT TWO SHALL CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: MESA, DELTA, PITKIN, GUNNISON, MONTROSE.

(C) DISTRICT THREE SHALL CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: SAN MIGUEL, OURAY, HINSDALE, MINERAL, SAN JUAN DOLORES, MONTEZUMA, LA PLATA, ARCHULETA.

(d) district four shall contain the following counties: jackson, larimar, grand, giplin, clear creek, summit, eagle.

(c) DISTRICT FIVE SHALL CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: BOULDER, JEFFERSON, DENVER, PARK, LAKE, CHAFFEE, FREMONT, ADAMS, ARAPAHOE, DOUGLAS.

(f) district six shall contain the following counties: saguache, custer, huerfano, alamosa, rio grande, conejos, costilla.

(g) district seven shall contain the following counties: weld, morgan, logan, sedgwick, phillips, yuma, washington.

(h) district eight shall contain the following counties: teller, el paso, elbert, lincoln, kit carson, cheyenne.

(i) DISTRICT NINE SHALL CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING COUNTIES: PUEBLO, CROWLEY, OTERO, KIOWA, BENT, PROWERS, BACA, LAS ANIMAS.

(5) THE VOTERS THAT RESIDE IN THE DISTRICT SHALL ELECT THE COMMISSIONER FOR THAT DISTRICT. THE WILDLIFE COMMISSION AND THE DIRECTOR OF THE DIVISION OF WILDLIFE SHALL BE TERMED LIMITED TO TWO TERMS.

(6) prerequisites for these positions require that candidates must be a current resident of colorado and have one of the following;

(a) BACHELORS OF SCIENCE IN WILDLIFE BIOLOGY FROM AN ACCREDITED COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY; OR

(b) BACHELORS OF SCIENCE IN WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT FROM AN ACCREDITED COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY; OR

(C) A MINIMUM OF TEN YEARS OF HUNTING OR ANGLING EXPERIENCE WITHIN THE STATE OF COLORADO

(7) ALL CANDIDATES SHALL HAVE THEIR HUNTING AND ANGLING LICENSES VERIFIED THROUGH THE DIVISION OF WILDLIFE DATABASE SHOWING THEIR HISTORY OF HUNTING AND ANGLING IN COLORADO. THE FEE FOR THIS VERIFICATION SHALL BE ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS, WHICH SHALL BE PAID TO THE DIVISION OF WILDLIFE BY THE CANDIDATE.

(8) The verified information on all candidates shall be posted by the division of wildlife for public viewing using what ever technology is current at the time for example; web page, no later than ninety days before the elections of the director or the commissioners. The division of wildlife shall also give this information to the legislative council of the colorado general assembly so that it shall be published in the "ballot information booklet".

